11765 Business Park Drive
Waldorf, MD 20601
Phone: (301) 932-4400
Fax: (301) 932-7566
Fort Washington Park is located at Maryland, USA. This fort overlooking the Potomac River was for many decades the only defensive fort protecting Washington D.C. It was built in 1809 C.E and was named Fort Warburton. There is also a light tower below the fort which was established in 1857 C.E and stands 28 feet tall.
Harmony Hall is a historic home dating back to the 18th Century. It is built in Georgian-style architecture on a sprawling estate on the banks of the Potomac River. Acquired by the National Park Service, it is open to visitors looking for a glimpse of Maryland's Colonial heritage. Originally called Battersea, it was given its present name after the harmonious living of its then resident couples, brothers John and Walter Dulaney Addison and spouses.
The Piscataway Park is a haven that every single nature lover would like to explore. Be it the rare species of birds or its nature trails, this park will surely leave you awe struck. Apart from enjoying the scenic views, here you can also indulge in activities like fishing, bird watching and much more. It is a perfect destination that combines recreation with adventure.
George Washington owned this 27-acre estate that is now home to the American Horticulture Society. Part of the manor dates to before the American Revolution, and visitors may explore the gracious mansion on self-guided tours. Stroll through the 12 thematically designed gardens. One features butterflies, another the sundial and yet another is devoted to the ever-popular dinosaur. History buffs may wander the colonial garden or learn about Washington's interest in horticulture. He introduced walnut, coffee bean and Osage-orange trees to the farm.
The Thomas Stone National Historic Site is located at Charles County, Maryland. It is also known as Haberdeventure or Thomas Stone House. The entire property covers an area of 360 acres (145.7 hectares). The house was added to the National Registrar of Historic Places on October 31, 1972.
From beneath the 90-foot (30-meter) portico, visitors can gaze across an expanse of sloping lawn to the Potomac River as its flows past Mount Vernon. This 17th-century plantation house was once home to the first President of the United States, George Washington. The property was originally owned by Washington's father, Augustine, and George replaced a smaller, more modest home with Mount Vernon when he came into the property, beginning in 1758. Today, costumed guides narrate the history of the elegant mansion and of the surrounding buildings, which have been preserved to reflect the days when the first president resided here. Visitors are invited to walk around the 500-acre (200-hectare) estate, tour the buildings and participate in the "Hands-on History" exhibits that recreate farming techniques and colonial games.
This charming farm complex consists of a lovely historic house. Influenced by the Greek Revival architectural style, this house overlooks the Potomac River. The view of the river is indeed one of the most beautiful highlights of the estate. This house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, which makes it a must visit when in town.
This historic home is a two story home in it's Georgian style, known as the Ellerslie. Beautifully maintained, architecturally remarkable and significant, this house is the best preserves among the historical landmarks. Spread over 52-acres of land, the County also consisted of two chimneys on the exterior portion of the building on each ends.
The Oxon Hill Manor is a historic structure built in 1928. Made with the Neo-Georgian and Colonial Revival styles of architecture, it was previously used as a residence. However, today the property is available on rental basis for private events. Overlooking the Potomac river, this beautiful manor is surrounded by English gardens. The cozy and intimate setting of the place is perfect for weddings and corporate gatherings.
The Jones Point Light is a small wooden lighthouse built on the banks of Potomac River. First lit in in 1856, it was functional until 1995. It went through several restorations in the past. The house is closed to the public, however you can enjoy the lights's and the river's beauty from the outside.
Contrabands and Freedmen Cemetery is located in Alexandria, Virginia. In 1987, the city of Alexandria started the preservation process of the cemetery to build a memorial park. The site got added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 15, 2012.
Between Woodlawn Plantation and Mount Vernon lies yet another of the enterprising first president's projects. Built before the Revolution and in operation for 30 years, this distillery and gristmill was used to grind corn and wheat into flour. It was neglected for years, leaving little but its foundation in tact at the start of the 20th century. However, it was renovated in 1930 with parts from another mill of the same period. Today visitors may view the mill along with exhibits explaining its operation.