23420 Sussex Highway
Seaford, DE 19973
Phone: (302) 628-5400
Fax: (302) 629-2221
23420 Sussex Highway, Seaford, DE, US, 19973
- Phone: (302) 628-5400
- Fax: (302) 629-2221
Owned by the Seaford Historical Society, this 20-acre plantation features a brick, Italian Villa-style mansion, granary, carriage house, barns, a corn crib, ham house, restored honeymoon cottage, and Delaware's only documented log slave quarters.
In operation since 1885, this mill produces Dove flour, corn meal and buckwheat pancake mix. It still has the original corn stone in use to create products sold commercially today. Tours are offered by appointment on Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Among about a dozen churches along the Atlantic Coast to survive unaltered since America's pre-Revolutionary period, Old Christ Church has never had plumbing, heat, or electricity. There is a monthly Sunday service at the church at 9:30 beginning the first Sunday of May to the first Sunday of October. Tours may be given after the service.
Home of Possum Point Players a play production group that puts on different performances each year.
Collection of the trees of all fifty-one states is on display during regular College hours.
The San Domingo School is a significant school site and occupies immense monumental value. It was constructed in 1919, and concentrated on providing education to the younger generation of the African-American community. This school facilitated opening up of different educational avenues for the African-Americans in Wicomico County.
Abbott's Mill, located in Sussex County, is a historic landmark and feature on the National Register of Historic Places. The nature center offers guided tours of the complex that includes an old grist mill. Several activities are held within the tour to help improve the learning process and make the visit even more interesting.
This complex located in Harrington features 1,000 slot machines, a year-round simulcast horse-racing parlor, a bar, buffet and caf
Built for Colonel Isacc and Ann Handy in 1741 and is a typical 18th-century Eastern Shore plantation house; noted for its interior paneling. May thru September.
The Milford Museum housed in a former post office building, gives us an idea of the history of Milford city and its beginnings on the Mispillion River. The museum has a huge collection of spoons, coins and novelties from a bygone era. Some of the exhibits explain the architecture, early settlements and interesting articrafts. The museum gives you a look at the rich heritage of the city's varied architecture and settlements. The display of the antique doll collection and informative photographs are not to be missed out. Guided tours are available and the in house library explains in detail the rich history of Delaware state.
Noted for exterior details, including Palladian and bullseye windows and finely carved interior woodwork. Built 1795-1805 in the transitional Georgain style. Poplar Hill is open for tours on the 1st and 3rd Sundays of each month from 1 - 4 p.m.
Purchased by the Reverend Sydenham Thorne who was one of the founders of the city. Also was once the home to Delaware statesman John M. Clayton. Tours available from May to October on the first Saturday and Sunday of each month.