6440 US 10 West
Ramsey, MN 55303
Phone: (763) 323-4800
Fax: (763) 323-0404
Travel back to a time when working the farm was a true family affair and all the work was done by hand. Watch farmhands plow fields with oxen and horses at the Kelley farm or harvest vegetables from the garden. Dressed in clothes from the period, interpreters demonstrate how farming was done in the 1860s in this bit of living Minnesota history. Visitors get a chance to try their hand at some farm chores and then relax on the front porch. Animals on the farm are like those bred in the 1860s to do farm work or supply the family with food. The buildings, clothing and farm tools are true to the period depicted.
The Church of St. Michael-Catholic is a beautiful church building established in 1890. The massive structure of the building is made in the German Gothic Revival style. Although the church has shifted to a new facility where it conducts services, this church is also used to conduct some masses. The grand architecture of the church is an attraction.
Commonly called French Park, this well-maintained member of the Hennepin Park System is located on the north end of Medicine Lake. A 362-acre urban refuge used primarily for recreational activities, it also has beautiful natural features. A long winding inlet of the 900-acre lake bisects the park. Beaver, muskrat, mink and turtle live here, while great egret, black crowned night heron, belted kingfisher, geese, ducks and spotted sandpiper nest or feed in the area. White-tailed deer, red fox, woodchuck, cottontail rabbit, great horned owl and red tailed hawk frequent the area. Cross-country ski trails are mowed for hikers in the off-season. There is a sandy swimming beach with restrooms, changing rooms and a snack bar. There are volleyball courts, a public boat launch and a picnic area with tables and grills. Park visitors can rent bicycles, rowboats, canoes, paddle boats, fishing poles and in winter, cross-country skis. In winter the frozen lake becomes a skating rink and kids go sledding on the hills. A fee is charged for parking and can be paid on a daily basis, or an annual pass, good at all county parks, may be purchased.
It was a simple homebrewing kit that fostered the growth of this brewery. Founder of Surly Brewing Co., Omar Ansari, took an interest in beers at a young age. In 2002 he began creating his own brews and after three years of efforts, along with his master brewer Todd Haug, he was able to set up a fully functional brewery. It was the establishment of Surly that got Brooklyn Center to revise its laws and legalize breweries in the city. Furious, Coffee Bender and CynicAle are some of their popular variety. Surly Brewing Co. celebrates its birthday with a special release, that are not easily available. Participate in a tour around the brewery and get acquainted with the brewing process.
One of the few outdoor venues in Plymouth, Minnesota that are open during winters, the Art Shanties at the Medicine Lake are little shanties designed to delight tourists and locals of this small town. Accessible only in winters when the lake freezes, visitors are to peep inside these shanties and experience art in a unique way. There are as many as twenty shanties that have theme-based designs, some of them include the Dirty Shanty, Robot Reprise and Nordic Village shanty to name a few.
Spread across 10 acres (4.04 hectares), the Deming Heights Park is one of the lesser popular parks in Minneapolis. Don't let that keep you from visiting this park. A unique feature of this park is its elevation point of 963 feet (293.52 meters) above sea level, making it the highest in the city. One of the trees of this park sports a wooden door known as the 'elf door', regularly polished and oiled; keep an eye out for this little attraction. Deming Heights Park offers a hint of green to those driving down the Grand Rounds Scenic Byway of Minnesota.
The East Side Neighborhood Services Center has been serving the community since 1915—helping immigrants, refugees, under-privileged children and the homeless has been this center's priority. They do this through several community initiatives like charity events and benefits like golf tournaments, wine tastings, snowshoe races and concerts. Volunteering at the ESNS can be a very rewarding and fulfilling experience.
St. Mary's Orthodox Cathedral is one of the most recognizable landmarks in Minneapolis. This majestic Russian Orthodox church was founded by Carpatho-Rusyn immigrants in 1887. Admire its stunning architecture, stained glass work, ornate murals and inspiring altar. Visit the gift shop and take home a copper cross made out of the church's original dome as a unique souvenir.
When driving around Northeast Minneapolis, the Zoran Sculpture Park is hard to miss. Dotting this verdant landscape is artwork by renowned sculptor from Belgrade Zoran Mojsilov. The stone and steel installations at this work-in-progress project are minimalistic yet thought provoking. Enjoy a picnic on the lawn of this open-air museum and admire the art oddities.
This complex looms large on the northeast Minneapolis landscape above the Mississippi River. The cluster of brick and limestone buildings extends an entire block. With its monolithic arches, attic arcades and protruding piers, it casts the ominous presence of a great European castle. The main building or brew house was built in 1891. In 1987, the city of Minneapolis purchased the property to preserve this historic link to its past. The facility is currently used for a variety of public functions including wine and beer tasting receptions.
Located on the Mississippi River, Boom Island Park is an idyllic park in the center of the city, something few cities can boast of. The park has a biking trail, picnic area and even a dock where you can hop on the Minneapolis Queen for a leisurely riverfront cruise. The park has sufficient parking area and restroom facilities.
For railroad buffs and historians alike, this small structure nestled near the shore of Lake Minnetonka is a must-see. Built in 1906, the wood and stucco English Tudor-styled station ended a dispute between the Wayzata community and James J. Hill's railroads. The conflict began in 1867 when the St. Paul and Pacific Railroad, later known as the Great Northern Railway, laid the first track down the main street of Wayzata. As the resort town grew the boxcars and loading docks blocked traffic as well as the view of the lake. After Wayzata incorporated in 1883, the town sued and won the right to have the track moved. Hill retaliated by relocating the station and steamboat landing a mile away, thereby putting a damper on the tourist trade. In 1905, reconciliation was reached and Hill consented to rebuild the depot on its former site. The Wayzata station closed in 1971 and city offices, including the Wayzata Chamber of Commerce and the Wayzata Historical Society, occupy space in the lakeside landmark.