4801 East 50th Street
Odessa, TX 79762
Phone: (432) 362-1500
Fax: (432) 362-1508
Arts & Museums
The Ellen No
The Center For Energy And Economic Diversification is located on the campus of the University of Texas of the Permian Basin which has a unique location between Odessa, Midland and the international airport. Spread across a whopping 300,000 square feet, this center houses the Petroleum Industry Alliance (PIA), Small Business Development Center (SBDC) and the Economic Development Administration University Center (EDA), all which play a crucial role in the town's economy and employment. The center often plays host to press conferences, dinner parties, training sessions and chamber of commerce events. Check website for details.
Containing three different galleries, the Ellen Noel Art Museum, which is an affiliate of the Smithsonian, brings art to the people in Odessa. With a total space of almost 20,000 square feet (6096 square meters), each room has a different atmosphere to highlight and show off different and unique types of art. With both permanent and ever-changing exhibits, the quality of art is sure to be high. The museum first opened in 1985 and has been providing access to art to visitors and residents alike ever since. Classes and camps for adults and children are available through the non-profit museum.
Whether you are an alumni, current, or prospective student, the University of Texas of the Permian Basin is a campus worth visiting. The campus features a replica of Stonehenge, the Nancy Fyfe Cardozier Gallery, and a nationally accredited business school. Home of the falcons, UTPB is also proud of its reputation and involvement in research to better the economy of the Permian Basin.
Dedicated to those all those who have taken the oath of office for presidency of the United States rather than a single individual, the Presidential Museum and Leadership Library is the only one of its kind. Created after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, citizens of Odessa wanted to honor those who have held the office. The library and museum contain information on each of the presidents and many documents and paraphernalia relating to their lives and time in office.
This ranching headquarters was originally built in 1917. Jim Parker bought the house in 1934, and it has since been considered a historical gem of Odessa. The Cotswold style house opened to the public in 1996 as the Parker House Museum and features exhibitions that reflect the ranching and county history. The museum annually showcases the legacy of local ranching families with interviews, photos, and artifacts. Admission is free of charge, although donations are greatly appreciated.
This restored modest house was once the headquarters of a ranch that took over 175 sections in Andrews and Ector Counties. Owned by Jim and Bessie Parker from the 1930s to the 1950s, this home features exhibits regarding the life and times of this family.
The only museum in the country that is dedicated to the office of the President, this museum contains a large array of permanent exhibits including the "Library of the Presidents," campaign memorabilia, portraits, historical documents, and the former home of President George and Barbara Bush. A gift shop is on site.
On the National Register of Historic Places, the White-Pool House Museum is one of the older structures in the area. Built to resemble the home Charles and Lucy White had used in Indiana, the house now contains exhibits to illustrate what life was like in Odessa many years ago. A replica of a barn also teaches visitors about agriculture, and the barn can be rented as a venue to host special events. Admission is free.
Celebrating and remembering the men and women who were connected to the aircrafts of World War II is what the American Airpower Heritage Museum does best. The museum is a great way to learn about the history of the war that changed the course of human history forever. Permanent exhibits include nose art panels with pin-up like images, a Veterans Wall of Honor, and an American Combat Airman Hall of Fame. The museum also has a large collection of oral histories and encourages all aviation veterans of World War II to tell their story before it is too late. A library completes the grounds and summer camps are held for the children of the area.
Originally the structure was built to serve as a railroad station for the town of Texon, it has been passed around from one place to another since then. The structure has also been home to a feed store and attempted to be converted into a house. It has since been bought and restored to serve as a museum providing information about the history of railroads.
The crater here was formed probably about 50,000 years ago, in pre-historic times; there are four smaller craters in the area that were formed at the same time. The Odessa Meteor Crater Museum protects and takes care of these craters. It is well-facilitated and displays a number of items connected with the Odessa crater, like tektites, meteorites and other space material. The largest of them is a 300 pound meteorite, also displayed at the museum. The crater itself is about 500 feet wide and 15 feet deep, but it used to be approximately 100 feet (30.48 meters) deep.