151 Hayes Ave.
Natchitoches, LA 71457
Phone: (318) 228-8816
Fax: (318) 228-8831
151 Hayes Ave., Natchitoches, LA, US, 71457
- Phone: (318) 228-8816
- Fax: (318) 228-8831
This 8,700-acre wilderness area is home to the alligator and the long legged birds plus features some of the most unique topography in Louisiana including unusually steep and rugged terrain, sandstone mesas and bluffs, distinct forest ecosystems, and outcroppings with several distinct forest types.
The most complete Creole plantation in the South, this plantation is situated on the banks of Cane River Lake on 42 beautiful acres. The plantation house was constructed by slaves using bousillage-mud and cured Spanish moss. There are 17 original outbuildings on site as well including an 1800's Overseer's House, two pigeonniers, a massive roofed log corn crib, a carpenter's shop, a carriage house, and a stable that was originally a smokehouse.
This house is located on property that was part of a 1723 land grant made to Frenchman, M. Barbier. This grant, which extended from Bayou Amulet to what is now Touline Street, was one of the earliest in Natchitoches.
A National Historic Landmark, this plantation consists of three main structures, the circa 1796 Yucca House that was a Colonial residence, the circa 1800 African House that was a slave fort and provision house, and the circa 1833 Big House, an early Louisiana plantation home. Other historic buildings on site include the Weaving House, the Bindery, the Writer's Cabin, Ghana, which is a cabin believed to be as old as the other Colonial buildings; and Clementine's House which is named after Clementine Hunter, one of Louisiana's most famous folk artists and whose works are on display at Melrose.
One of the most scenic drives in Louisiana, this 17 mile scenic byway guides you through some of the most beautiful and unique scenery in the Kisatchie National Forest. There are a number of scenic overlooks, primitive and developed campsites, interpretive signs, hiking and horseback riding trails, and picnic sites along the byway.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this historic house is the only surviving example of poteaux-en-terre and bousillage architecture in Louisiana and features a single central chimney and dirt floors. This house is also the only one of five poteaux-en-terre and bousillage homes in the country and offers a first hand glance at Creole frontier life.
Unique and historic French Colonial home that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has features including hand hewn cyrpess rafters, bousillage walls, and fireplaces on the interior of the rooms rather than on the exterior walls.
Established in 1931, this warm water facility features 16 aquarium tanks filled with native species including catfish, redear sunfish, largemouth bass, and bluegill that are raised for local public waters and farm ponds. A 25 minute video presentation and group tours are available.
The first non-Roman Catholic church in Natchitoches and the third oldest Episcopal church in Louisiana, this historic church has a Gothic-Norman architecture style and has features include hand cut timber flooring, a one-third silver bell that was cast specifically for this church by the Troy Bell Foundry, and silver communion vessels given by the original builder still being used today. Beautiful windows on the north side of the church depict Christ's miracles while the windows on the south side depict the parables.
The fifth Catholic church built in Natchitoches, this historic church has features including the original crystal chandeliers from France, original stained glass windows, and the original oil portraits of the Way of the Cross. Across the street is the Rectory that was built in New Orleans in 1885 and the Old Seminary that was built in 1855 to house and educate seminarians.
Inside the Cane River National Heritage Area stands the Cane River Creole National Historical Park in the state of Louisiana. The national government of preserves 67 historical parks which have importance, and two among those lie on the banks of Cane river. In 1994, this park was inaugurated by the National Congress. It was done in order to preserve some fine specimens of French and Creole architecture in the country. Restoration and preservation work keeps the common public away most of the time but still there are tours available and requests for public outings are accepted but permissions have to taken prior.
Believed to be the earliest built structure remaining on Front Street, this historic townhouse features lavish ornamental iron lace and Natchitoches' famous "Spiral Staircase" that was cast in Bourdeaux, France, and shipped up the Red River to Grand Encore in 1853.