80 Prosperity Ave
Leesburg, VA 20175
Phone: (703) 669-1650
Fax: (703) 669-0687
80 Prosperity Ave, Leesburg, VA, US, 20175
- Phone: (703) 669-1650
- Fax: (703) 669-0687
This beautiful Federal style structure on Edwards Ferry Road, was the family home of General George. C. Marshall and his wife Katherine. Marshall was the 50th United States Secretary of State, a competent leader during World War II, and a recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953 for the Marshall plan that helped aid Europe post the war. The house has been restored to its former glory, including the interior decor. Tours around The George C. Marshall House are offered, and this place can also be rented out for private events.
Housed in a historic 1922 Georgian Revival building, this full service library offers standard library services, as well as local history, family history, and Civil War collections.
Virginia's only known grist mill powered by twin overshot water wheels, this merchant mill grounds wheat into superfine flour for commercial export. Early visitors to the mill included President James Monroe, who ground grain here while living at nearby Oak Hill, and Confederate Colonel John Singleton Mosby, who captured Union Soldiers at the mill during the Civil War.
This 12,000 square foot, lighted skating area for in-line skaters, skateboarders, and bikes features an assortment of obstacles, such as launch ramps, fun boxes, rail slides, and half pipes, to challenge skaters' skills.
Audubon Naturalist Society's 68-acre Rust Nature Sanctuary consists of the circa 1910 Rust Manor House, meadows, forests, ponds, and a variety of wildlife and plants.
This 1,200 acre site contains a historic Greek Revival mansion that showcases an antique carriage collection, as well as magnificent boxwood gardens, an equine center, and the Museum of Hounds and Hunting. Special events are held here year round.
Get up close and personal with some of the friendliest animals around while at this animal park where visitors can pet and feed animals including llamas, donkeys, sheep, goats, deer, and other exotic and domestic livestock. Meet exotic animals including squirrel monkeys, ring-tailed lemurs, and parrots and wagon rides and pony rides are available at this animal park.
Situated on the historic Little River Turnpike and Old Carolina Road, this church served as a rendezvous site for John S. Mosby's partisan rangers. The church was a prison, hospital, and burial grounds during the Civil War.
There are 12 exciting paintball courses on a wide range of terrain, including hills, valleys, clearings, and woods, available at this venue which also offers scenarios such as a fort, castle, bunkers, tree houses, bridges, and pill boxes. Two speedball courses and the castle have lights for night play.
The Janelia is a mansion, which is a 16.7 acres (6.8 hectares) of land. Surrounded by the Jamelia Farm Research Campus, the house is designed in the French manor style, with a simple concrete and brick structure, hipped roofs and six chimneys the house stands out in it's beauty. The heavy wood doors at the entrance, the curvy staircase that leads one to the top, and the commanding view of the swimming pool from the French windows is all an absolute delight to watch.
A historic, beautifully appointed National Trust mansion which features a wide array of antiques, dependencies, a four acre formal garden, a shaded picnic grove, and a carefully restored carriage house. Daily tours are available and the property offers a variety of settings for special occasions, retreats, and meetings for 60 to 400 people.
Nestled high atop the Catoctin Ridge complete with panoramic views of the Loudoun Valley, this internationally acclaimed winery produces small quantities of high quality wines. Visitors are welcome for tours, wine tasting, and sales. Scenic vistas for picnics are also available.