1937 Short Road
Kearneysville, WV 25430
Phone: (304) 263-8888
Fax: (304) 263-1540
With over 20 acres of shade trees, meadows, playgrounds and spring-fed streams, Morgan's Grove Park serves as an idyllic site for community gatherings, such as the annual Labor Day Community Picnic. Complete facilities include amenities for picnics and play. Morgan's Grove Park is available for rental.
Popodicon, the Southern mansion style home of Shepherd College's presidential families, is a highlight of the Shepherdstown community and is rich in history, charm, and beauty. Located on Shepherd Grade Road, Popodicon is surrounded by 126 acres of rolling land, including stately lawns and formal gardens. The estate's history goes back to 1879 when Henry W. Potts, a civil engineer, came to Shepherdstown to lay out a section of the valley branch of the Norfolk and Western Railroad.
The Rumsey Monument was erected in honor of James Rumsey, the inventor of the steam ship.
Sam Michael's Park occupies 130 acres of undulating greens, and is one of the pivotal recreation spots for the people of Shenandoah Junction. A community center inside can be rented for wedding receptions, school reunions, business events, festivals, exhibitions and private parties. This pet-friendly park always welcomes dogs and children who have their own designated spaces. Summers and weekends get busy as the picnic tables and barbecue grills are put to good use by families and friends. Come to Sam Michael's Park for some recreation!
The Shepherdstown Public Library is located in a unique historic building that began its life in the summer of 1800 as a market house.
This home was originally built as the manse, or home for the Presbyterian minister and is still used for that purpose today.
This beautiful Greek Revival church served as a hospital for both of the opposing armies of the Civil War. It was the only church in town that was not damaged during the war.
Suffering severe damage during the Civil War when it was bombed by the Confederate Army, it was not restored until 1872. In 1859, the abolitionist John Brown was tried here for treason. This is still a working courthouse.
Constructed by a local carpenter, this home was built for Samuel, the son of Charles Washington. Samuel Washington was the nephew of George Washington, our first president.
Experience the harvests and capture the mood of the seasons. Discover the satisfaction of picking your own apples and pumpkins in the natural beauty of this farm setting.
This lovely brick Victorian home was built very near the site of John Brown's execution.
Though the execution of John Brown was closed to public viewing his hanging was seen from this home in 1859.