2480 Bushwood Drive
Elgin, IL 60124
Phone: (847) 836-9500
Fax: (847) 836-9520
2480 Bushwood Drive, Elgin, IL, US, 60124
- Phone: (847) 836-9500
- Fax: (847) 836-9520
Arts & Museums
A 1,200 seat theater and 11,300 square foot exhibition hall.
The original 1856 Elgin Academy.
The Elgin region of Illinois is bequeathed with a fine historic site in the form of the distinct Elgin Public Museum of Natural History and Anthropology in Lords Park. It is a small natural history museum which was actively constructed in 1907. It was initially called the Lord Memorial Museum and was opened as the Elgin Audubon Museum in 1920. It swanks of being the oldest museum building in Illinois as such. It is inclusive of an array of exhibits like the Mazon Creek fossils, Native American lifeways, endangered species as well as Ice Age mammals. A visit to this museum is worth it.
The region of Elgin in Illinois is home to the historic Fire Barn 5 which was the fifth official fire barn in Elgin. It initially housed horses along with a fire fighting carriage. It successfully functioned as a fire station till 1991. It is also touted to be one of the finer examples of the Classic Revival style of architecture. At present, it operates as a museum depicting fire fighting history. Shut down on almost all major holidays, the museum can be visited on Saturdays and Sundays from noon to 4:00p. The charges for touring are minimal with USD2 for adults and USD1 for children. Also, toddlers below five years of age can visit for free.
Fox River Trolley Museum is a museum that is dedicated to the American Electric railroad. It's collection comprises rail trolleys, locomotives and items pertaining to railroad industry. The museum also conducts rides that takes you through scenic and lovely routes.For fares, event updates and other details, please check website.
85,000 square feet of fun and education.
Featuring rotating exhibits of St. Charles history, including Civil War artifacts, local industry, and other fascinating facts. Also offers a gift shop.
Garfield Farm and Inn Museum is located in Campton Hills, Kane County, Illinois. This well-preserved farmstead spreads across 380 acres (153 hectares) and is a museum with programs that are educational as well as fun. It is named after architect the Timothy P. Garfield, and was added to the National Register of Historic Places on June 23, 1978.
This unique Native American art gallery, operated by the American Indian Center of Chicago, showcases modern American Indian culture for suburban residents. It will feature contemporary Native art, post 1960s. Also offered are film screenings, ceremonial dance exhibits, featured speakers, panel discussions, school tours and educator workshops.
Preservation Partners of the Fox Valley is delighted to announce that the Fabyan Japanese Garden, an original feature of George & Nelle Fabyans' private estate, will open its doors to the public extra-early on Sunday, May 2nd. This Eden of tranquility will be open Sundays from 1 to 4:30 p.m. From June to October, guests are also welcomed to tour the Century-old site on Wednesdays from 1 to 4 p.m. Savor a moment or two of harmony with nature in the exquisite, Zen-like Garden while learning how to add a touch of magnificence to your own backyard. Guided tours share the Fabyans' fascinating story and explore the splendor of Frank Lloyd Wright's architecture. Discover the Fabyans' private collection of Asian artifacts, natural history specimens, original furniture, and plenty of surprises.
This Second Empire styled building was built in 1873 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1979. The George Clayson House was the residential home of a local carpenter and orchardist of the same name. Spread across 10 acres (4.04 hectares), it was bought by the Palatine Public Library and is maintained by the Palatine Park District. Today it is a public museum and library focusing on local history. A gem for history lovers, it features countless heirlooms and relics from Palatine’s past.
The West Chicago City Museum is a distinguished museum site, located in the West Chicago region of the U.S. State of Illinois. It was formerly called the Turner Town Hall. Its construction dates back to 1884. The site has been registered on the National Register of Historic Places. The structure elegantly traces the Late Victorian and the Italianate styles of architecture. The building is predominantly a two story structure and is established on a foundation of limestone.