Comfort Suites at Woodbridge
1275 Route 1 & 9 South
Avenel, NJ 07001
Phone: (732) 396-3000
Fax: (732) 943-7768
1275 Route 1 & 9 South, Avenel, NJ, US, 07001
- Phone: (732) 396-3000
- Fax: (732) 943-7768
Arts & Museums
Merchants and Drovers Tavern is a historic tavern that is now transformed in to a museum that chronicles the travel and leisure life of early America. For details, check website.
The Robinson Plantation House is a historical home that dates back to the 17th Century. This frame house is now transformed into Dr. Wm. Robinson Plantation & Museum that is open to all visitors. Included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places, it is also referred to as Seventeenth Century Clark House.
The Edison Memorial Tower and Museum offers an insight into the life and works of science genius, Thomas Alva Edison. As an ode to his remarkable contribution to the field, this tower museum is built on the very site of his original work laboratory. It houses a great collection of articles, books and photographs on his inventions, as well as family memorabilia. Learn about the mechanism of the phonograph, the electrical distribution and the carbon button transmitter, among over 400 of his patents. A gigantic symbolic representation of his iconic invention, the light bulb, makes its way to the top of the tower. In addition, this museum features on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Crane-Phillips House is a Victorian-style cottage located in Cranford, New Jersey. It is now a museum which is operated by the Cranford Historical Society and it shows how life was for modest families in the Victorian opulence era. The museum displays a lot of artifacts like Native American, American Civil and Revolutionary War artifacts, to name a few. This museum was added to National Register of Historic Places on August 14, 1997.
Take a tour of the Woodruff House and the Eaton Store Museum and explore the beautifully restored home. Managed by the Hillside Historical Society, it was included in the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.
In 1945, Jacques Marchais founded a museum to house her collection of Tibetan art. She designed two fieldstone buildings, a library and a museum, to resemble a Himalayan temple. The Museum is surrounded by meditation gardens with statues of Shakyamuni Buddha, Tibetan prayer flags, and a lotus and fish pond. The collection primarily consists of Tibetan Buddhist art from Tibet, Mongolia, and Northern China and dates from the 15th to the early 20th century. The collection is especially rich in statues of buddhas, lamas, arhats, protector deities and thangka paintings as well as excellent examples of 18th century Qianlong cloisonné. There is a giftshop featuring items made by Tibetan artisans.
A public museum owned by the City of Plainfield and operated by the Historical Society of Plainfield, the Drake House was built in 1746, by Isaac Drake as a home for his son, Nathaniel. It served as George Washington headquarters during and after the Battle of Short Hills, fought over the entire Plainfield area from June 25-27, 1777. The first-floor kitchen, bedroom and dining room are typical of those in homes of the 18th century. Parlor and the Harberger Library furnishings represent the late Empire and early Victorian era. The Drake House collection also includes costumes, historical books, photos and prints, paintings and area memorabilia, including the last will and testament of Isaac Drake, Tree of Life quilt and a seven-legged Creiger piano. The Drake House is open to the public every Sunday from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Founded in 1933 by 7 artists who sought to foster a love for the arts in the city of Summit, the Visual Arts Center Of New Jersey has come a long way since then, and is now recognized as the pioneer of art educational programs in New Jersey. Discussions, symposiums, workshops, exhibitions and film screenings are regularly organized, while the 9 studios, the art school and galleries are put to good use by artists. An outdoor event space can be hired for private, social and business events too. Check website for further details. Suggested donations apply.
Explore, play, be a firefighter, ride a boat, fish, act like insect, and learn about animals at the Staten Island Children's Museum. Children have an opportunity to explore the world around them. There's a construction zone where kids can learn about houses and how they are built; they even get to use a digger and decorate!
Located in Snug Harbor Cultural Center, the Noble Maritime Collection has managed to preserve and study maritime history. Navigators and researchers from all over the world showcase their findings here. The main purpose of the museum is to preserve and promote the historical writings, and arts of marine artist John A. Nobel. Ship models, rare maritime collections and Noble's houseboat studio are to be seen here.
Garibaldi-Meucci Museum is located on Tompkins Avenue in Staten Island, New York and was orignally known as Garibaldi Memorial. It was established as a testament of the Italian-American culture and history. It is owned and administered by the National Order Sons of Italy Foundation as well as the New York Grand Lodge Order Sons of Italy in America. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 17, 1980.
This house museum honors Garibaldi, a Revolutionary War hero and Meucci, a pioneer phone inventor.