Comfort Suites Austin Airport
7501 E. Ben White Blvd.
Austin, TX 78741
Phone: (512) 386-6000
Fax: (512) 386-6001
7501 E. Ben White Blvd., Austin, TX, US, 78741
- Phone: (512) 386-6000
- Fax: (512) 386-6001
Several Austin restaurants and bars have Live Oak brands (including Big Bark Amber Lager, Live Oak Pale Ale and Live Oak Pilz) on tap. Beer-enthusiasts will appreciate not only the rich malt flavors they find in the tasting room, but also the process behind the brew. The two owners of this company traveled to Prague to learn ancient techniques, and then developed their own unique process. The guided tour, which explains how decoction mash, open fermentation and secondary lagering make Live Oak beers unique, takes about two hours. Free samples follow every tour.
Walking along the trail of Lady Bird Lake, Festival Beach is a beautiful place to spend your days doing nothing. For those wishing to make the most of their day off by playing some sports with pals or just for some quality time with family, there are a host of things to do. Basketball courts and fishing areas are available for the young and old alike. The picnic shelter allows groups to spend gleeful days. Do visit this place for a pleasant day in the city.
Over the years, Austin's Fiesta Gardens have been home to numerous festivals and cultural events. This venue has become a firm favorite with organizers because of the thick grass and luscious foliage which prevent it from becoming an annoying dust-filled space. A sheltered pavilion coupled with multiple stages and a superlative layout along the waterside, sets apart these festive gardens from other outdoor event spaces.
The McKinney Falls State Park, located in southeast Austin, at a short distance from the downtown area, is the ideal spot for a fun day out with family and friends. Whether you're into fitness and recreational sports, or just want to lounge about and have a leisurely day, this park is for you. This day park offers a number of activities such as hiking, biking, picnicking, as well as fishing and swimming in the Onion Creek. The park also has a 500 year old cypress tree that is worth a visit. The park visitor center can provide you with all the required information.
This fully functional organic farm has won many awards for its urban farming techniques. Purchase fantastic fresh vegetables on Wednesday and Saturday mornings (9am-2pm), or let your kids experience real farm life right in the heart of the city—animals and tractors are some of the biggest attractions for the little ones on market day. While shopping for produce, take a peek at the historic farmhouse, noted as one of the oldest existing buildings in Austin (built in 1838).
Pan Am Park has many facilities, including areas for barbecuing and playing sports, and a recreation center. The center holds classes and other events. Call or see the website for more information.
A visit to Austin isn't complete without a visit to the aristocratic Rainey Street. This quaint street is flanked by historical residences and a canopy of green trees. Most houses are under private occupation, however some have been converted into swanky bars and restaurants, so much so that this area is famous for its bar scene. These establishments retain the vintage feel of the place, whilst infusing the picturesque houses with contemporary decor. This gives rise to a unique bar culture, and most of the restaurants boast of extensive porches and backyards. Do visit this area for its ebullient nightlife and cocktail lounges that coexist with the quiet, old-world charm of this residential zone.
From 1843 to 1912 this cabin was home to Henry Green Madison. After caring for eight children with his wife Louise in this cabin, they finally built a larger home in 1886. The Madisons built this new frame house around the structure of the old cabin and it was not again seen until a construction crew uncovered it in 1968. The cabin currently resides in Rosewood Park after its donation to the City of Austin by Ninabelle Wooten.
This 22-acre (8.9-hectare) cemetery is the final resting place of some of Austin's most famous military and public figures, including Stephen F. Austin, Barbara Jordan and nearly 2200 veterans of the Confederate Army. It was restored in 1997 with a visitor center addition and is a very tranquil place to be. Visitors may call ahead to arrange for guided tours, or take a private tour with help from the Visitor Center's information packets. Admission is free.
Architect Nicholas J. Clayton of Galveston designed the beautiful main building (1888) in a Gothic Revival style with Texas white limestone. A fire destroyed most of the main building in 1903 and after being rebuilt, it was again severely damaged by a tornado in 1922. The University received its charter in 1925. Since that time, the academic programs have grown to include business administration, theater arts and an innovative undergraduate program for adults. The graduate school includes a Master of Arts in Human Services, Photo communications, International Studies, Communication, Business, Theater and Spanish/Liberal Arts.
Our Lady of Guadalupe Church, an old Hispanic parish in Austin, was originally located on Fifth and Guadalupe. Built in 1907, the church was forced to move to its present location in east Austin in the 1920s due to a city-enforced master plan of cultural segregation. This second church was not large enough to accommodate the growing members, and the current church was set up in the 1950s. This congregation is especially known for its widespread celebration of the Feast of Guadalupe on December 12th, the patron saint not only of their church but for Latinos everywhere.
King Louis Philippe ordered Alphonse Dubois de Saligny of France to Austin in 1839 to become the French liaison to the Republic of Texas. He insisted on being called "Count" and built this home on 22 acres of land in 1841. While waiting for building to cease, he was involved in a dispute over pigs and moved to Louisiana. He never returned to Texas and did not spend a single night in this home. In 1848, Dr. Joseph Robertson purchased the home and passed it on through his family for years; in 1949, the State of Texas acquired it. The home has been restored and even houses a French Creole kitchen.